The Student News Site of Van Nuys High School

The Mirror

The Student News Site of Van Nuys High School

The Mirror

The Student News Site of Van Nuys High School

The Mirror

Van Nuys High School
Twitter & Teens: How students feel about Musks newest purchase
Twitter & Teens: How students feel about Musk's newest purchase
By Gabriel Castillo, Staff Writer • Published May 12, 2022
Counterintuitive? Despite an 8:30 a.m. start, the closing of alternative entrances by 8:20 a.m. on campus has resulted in a line of students waiting to enter through the main entrance that often wraps around the block.
Unnecessary tardy enforcements are an inconvenience for students.
By Dakota Threats, Opinion Editor • Published April 28, 2022
Womens History Month came about in the 70s after a feminist push for equal access to jobs and education!
Women's History Month: Give it the recognition it deserves
By Kimberly Luna, Staff Writer • Published March 24, 2022
Senate bill 866 builds on existing law, which currently allows minors 12 and over to make choices about their bodies around healthcare.
California kids should call their own shots when it comes to getting the vaccine
By Angelina Gevorgyan and Angelica VenturinaPublished March 12, 2022
Billionaires. They profit off their employees who earn minimum-wage.
Billionaires are evil, and you’ll NEVER be one
By Gabriel Castillo and Ani TutunjyanPublished March 11, 2022
Backpack searches: A matter of security or a violation of student privacy?
PRO | CON: Backpack searches
By Shaan Bhatia and Ani TutunjyanPublished March 3, 2022
Michael Zamarippa explores his creativity and interest in the makeup he wears to school.
The duality of makeup
By Mereline Perez, Staff Writer • Published February 7, 2022
I hope that the class of 2022 can walk across the stage and receive our diplomas in person.
I want to finish my last semester at school
By Mereline Perez, Staff Writer • Published January 31, 2022
The Dont say gay bill being considered would prevent free conversations and exclude people on a personal, individual level.
“Gay” isnt a bad word, stop acting like it is.
By Dakota Threats, Opinion Editor • Published January 26, 2022
A demonstration by students after the Parkland shooting shocked people across the nation.
We do not feel safe on campus
By Kimberly Luna and Shaan BhatiaPublished January 2, 2022
Getting gifts is a way to show friends and family love during a specific time of the year.
Receiving gifts warms my heart
By Julianna Macfarlane, Staff Writer • Published December 23, 2021
The reaction of the receivers makes the whole process satisfying and joyful.
Giving gifts is my favorite part of the holidays
By Kimberly Luna, Staff Writer • Published December 23, 2021
The sign at the Auschwitz concentration camp remains the show the fate of so many victims that entered.
No Texas, there are not two sides to the Holocaust
By Dakota Threats, Opinion Editor • Published December 15, 2021
YouTuber Shane Dawson has been involved in numerous scandals during recent years. His apology video in June 2020 has over 20 million views.
Keep cancel culture alive
By Julianna Macfarlane, Staff Writer • Published December 9, 2021
Finding your style 101
By Nathan Han, Online Editor-in-Chief • Published December 7, 2021
There is no justification for canceling people
By Kimberly Luna, Staff Writer • Published November 28, 2021
Actors should not be required to wear masks on stage
By Kimberly Luna, Staff Writer • Published November 22, 2021
K-pop music doesn't deserve your hate
By Julianna Macfarlane, Staff Writer • Published November 18, 2021
College application season is stressing me out
By Julianna Macfarlane, Staff Writer • Published November 4, 2021
Changes in dress code are a sign of progressiveness
By Julianna Macfarlane, Staff Writer • Published November 1, 2021
Too old to trick-or-treat?
By Kyrillos Mina, Staff Writer • Published October 28, 2021
Running sports should not be underrated
By Kyrillos Mina, Staff Writer • Published October 20, 2021
Hispanic Heritage Month: Why I am proud to be Mexican
By Mereline Perez, Staff Writer • Published October 5, 2021