The Student News Site of Van Nuys High School

The Mirror

vnhsMIRROR.com

The student website of Van Nuys High School
Van Nuys, California
The Student News Site of Van Nuys High School

The Mirror

The Student News Site of Van Nuys High School

The Mirror

I’ve always loved the characters of Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot. They’re both well-written and a delight to read about in their many adventures.
The beaming brilliance of Holmes and Poirot
By Daimler Koch, Staff Writer • Published Jan 20, 2023
Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot are the two most famous (fictional) detectives out there, and there’s no reason not to love them.
The mastermind behind Quick Take reveals some unfinished business
The Quick Take files: the lost articles of Daimler Koch
By Daimler Koch, Staff Writer • Published Jan 12, 2023
The author of Quick Take reveals the stories that time (almost) forgot
People with lower financial statuses might face a challenge when the season of giving rolls around and people are expected to give gifts. 
Body:
Holiday Gift-Giving is giving stress to those with less
By Docette Danialypour, Staff Writer • Published Dec 21, 2022
Gift-giving during Christmas can feel like such a dreadful expectation, especially for those who don’t have the money to spend on gifts.

More than just a Jewish Christmas, Hanukkah is about celebrating who I am
More than just a Jewish Christmas, Hanukkah is about celebrating who I am
By Breeana Gerdes, Opinion Editor • Published Dec 19, 2022

Some might say Hanukkah is just Jewish Christmas. Indeed, it shares a lot of similarities with Christmas, like family and friends getting together,...

Quick Take 7Why you have too proofraed
Quick Take 7
Why you have too proofraed
By Daimler Koch, Staff Writer • Published Dec 12, 2022
Proofreading is very important, as you can see by the titel
Quick Take 6Daydreaming is actually awesome
Quick Take 6
Daydreaming is actually awesome
By Daimler Koch, Staff Writer • Published Nov 15, 2022
Daydreaming is perhaps the quickest and best way I get anything done.
It’s wrong to ignore your right to vote
It’s wrong to ignore your right to vote
By Daimler Koch, Staff Writer • Published Nov 7, 2022
According to the US Census Bureau, individuals between the ages of 18 and 29 have the lowest voter turnout by age group.
Don’t get tricked by your treats
Don’t get tricked by your treats
By Docette Danialypour, Staff Writer • Published Oct 30, 2022
The topics I write about for Quick Take are the small stuff – writing, little-known facts, etc. Not anything big, like politics or society.
Quick Take
Why I write about the things I do
By Daimler Koch, Staff Writer • Published Oct 24, 2022
Inspiration is a fleeting moment, and can be hard to capture in writing form.
Quick Take
The importance of perfect timing
By Daimler Koch, Staff Writer • Published Oct 6, 2022
Sometimes, the best mistakes are those that the writing professionals make.
Quick Take
The humor in writing
By Daimler Koch, Staff Writer • Published Sep 30, 2022
View all
Writer’s block is a painful obstacle for any writer, standing in the way of good ideas and efficient progress
Quick Take
The silent struggle behind writing
By Daimler Koch, Staff Writer • Published Sep 23, 2022
Although many cultures participate in the consumption of meat products, its time to consider the global impact of vast over consumption.
Consuming meat is decimating our planet
By Alexa Ballesteros, Staff Writer • Published Sep 15, 2022
Donate to The Mirror
$0
$500
Contributed
Our Goal